We Are Not First Cousins

27 Sep

But if we were, we could get married in NJ.  Who knew??

DB and I took a mini-break from atoning yesterday to head down to Newark City Hall to get our marriage license.  We are New York residents but NY & NJ laws state that you must get the license in the municipality that you are getting married.  So off the Newark we went.

City Hall – It’s actually a really cool old building. Just like The Mezz!

DB and I filled out a few forms, paid $28 and took an oath.  Then we needed our witness to step in.  I brought my mom as back-up, but as we were walking into the building. I tweeted at social-media savvy Newark Mayor Cory Booker:

Within the  minute, Mayor Booker tweeted me back.  My heart stopped, hoping he was on his way downstairs, but alas:

I then proceeded to invite him to the wedding via Twitter.  I’ll let you know if he shows up!

Don’t worry, my mom was an excellent witness.  A few more signatures and questions and we were good to go.  We have to pick it up the week of the wedding.

It’s getting really close now…  xoxo db2be

2 Responses to “We Are Not First Cousins”

  1. Bob aka David's Dad September 27, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    Just in case anyone was wondering why David is the way he is—my great grandparents and his great great grandparents were first cousins. As David will tell u, it is always my fault! By the way David–u r wearing my great grandfather’s watch!

  2. lifesbetterbarefoot September 27, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

    You are hysterical! I love this and your pr skills! 🙂

Leave a Reply

